Sir Ken Robinson. Creativity, diversity, and student choice in education

I spent yesterday binge-watching Sir Ken Robinson on the TED Talk YouTube channel. I found myself nodding my head quite often. Schools today kill creativity. They expect students to fit our mold rather than our schools to fit the individual student. He talked a lot about bringing creativity, the arts, and diversity to schools today. What he didn’t talk about was HOW that should look. I suppose that’s not bad…because he rails against cookie-cutter educational answers. However, I’m interested in how you and your school are bringing these things to education.

I love Ken Robinson’s stuff. I agree, he never really talks about how that should look. I think that’s the point. I think he leaves it open on purpose. Teachers and students need to be given the right to choose how to express themselves. Obviously, I am a huge fan of student created iBooks. Truth is, I don’t care what kids create but they need to be creating things. The creation process is highly creative and we need students who want to do those things and teachers/administrators who will let them happen.

Most watched TED Talk right here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG9CE55wbtY

Obviously, I’m a fan of Genius Hour and innovation. That takes an enormous amount of admin support and students who are open to a whole new way of thinking. Imagine a teacher saying, “I’m not going to tell you what to study. You figure out what you’re passionate about.”

In my opinion, that is a fault of the ed community, which I’m just as guilty of. We can easily find fault, but we must also find solutions. j

I’d love to do some sort of overnight Hackathon, where teams work on solutions overnight and then present them the next morning.